Official FAQ for Mercenary Packs and ConQuests
Last Updated 2025-08-01
- Mercenary Pack General Rules
- ConQuests 2025
- General Compatibility Notes for Crossover Characters
- Changelog (beginning at v1.0)
1.0 Mercenary Pack General Rules
Can I rename these characters? Yes, of course. While they are ‘officially’ existing characters, you can rename them and make them your own.
What does ‘as if you occupied’ mean? Several classes in this pack (including Anaphi and Cassandra) have cards featuring this effect. All parts of the ability must be performed as if your figure was on the chosen hex, including situational buffs. They cannot just be performed from your own figure. Your figure does not need line of sight to the chosen hex, or to the ability’s targets. If there’s a pull or push as part of the ability, it’s measured from the hex, not your figure. Retaliate will only affect you if your actual figure is in range of the enemy’s Retaliate range.
When are these characters unlocked? These are considered Starter Classes, and are available immediately, unless you decide otherwise.
Which games can these characters be used in Mercenary Pack characters are compatible with any game in the series. Their solo scenarios, however, require the characters’ “home” game components - Jaws of the Lion for Anaphi; Gloomhaven Second Edition for Hail and Cassandra; and Frosthaven for Satha.
1.1 Anaphi
Surrounding Shadows (1) – What does ‘as if I occupied’ mean here? See general rules, above.
Endless Biting (1) – What happens if the Duskrat Swarm is reduced to 0 health by an Attack? Can it still Heal 1? No; it is killed when it has accumulated damage equal to its health.
Black Claws (1) – Note that the enemy has to have a negative condition before you initate the attack ability, in order to get the additional target.
Level 5 Cards General – As both of Anaphi’s lvl 5 cards use the second mini, she cannot have both cards in her active area at the same time. (You’re meant to choose one and not pick the other card at higher levels.)
My Loyal Friend (5) – What does the added text mean here? Damage on Summons is normally tracked by placing damage tokens on their card. When damage tokens equal to the summon’s maximum health are present, the Summon dies and usually the card is removed. Rosie works slightly differently than normal Summons, however; for one thing, you don’t remove her card when she dies. For another, her special rules allow you to – effectively – re-summon her at the start of your third turn after she dies. (You don’t gain any more XP for this re-summoning.) What happens if there is no hex adjacent to me for the Mind-linked Rat to be re-summoned? The card text reads ‘may,’ so it may be held until the start of any turn you wish, once all damage tokens are removed.
Revel in Misery (6, top) - Note that the enemy has to have a negative condition before you initate the attack ability, in order to get the bless. Also note that you get a maximum of one Bless per attack ability, not per individual attack.
Her Highness (9, bot) – If the Heal targets you, enemies adjacent to you still only take damage once.
Spotlight Scenario Errata - A Harrowing Deal: The numbers as printed in the Map Layout area of “A Harrowing Deal” should read 42 / 43 / 17
Ancestry Note - Anaphi is a Vermling for any situations that check Ancestry (such as some event cards).
1.2 Cassandra
Do ‘revealed cards’ include drawn cards or discards? No; only cards that have been flipped to their faces, on top of the draw deck, are considered ‘revealed.’ This is especially important for the two-check perk.
Envision the Course (1, top) – What is a ‘linked hex’? Linked hexes are considered adjacent for the purpose of movement . There is no line-of-sight between linked hexes, but figures can find focus through linked hexes.
Otherworldly Journey (1, bot) – Note that a figure cannot be teleported into a hex it could not normally occupy (like an Obstacle for a non-flying enemy.)
Dimensional Divide (2, top) – If the element is consumed, the Push is added only to the Push, and the Pull is added only to the Pull.
Enfeebling Hex (4, top) – How long does the -1 stay in the monster deck? Until the end of the scenario.
Constant Flux (5, bottom) - Can this target one ally and one enemy? Yes. It can target two allies, two enemies, or one ally and one enemy.
Tear Reality (7, top) – What does ‘as if you occupied’ mean? See General Rules, above.
Ancestry Note - Cassandra is an Aesther for any situations that check Ancestry (such as some event cards).
Solo Item - The Basin has two sides but is not a flip item. You choose the side you bring before the scenario. This is described in the solo scenario rules.
1.3 Hail
General, on Enhancement Costs – Cards that are conditionally Lost cards (such as Fleeting Interest, 1 top) cost half to enhance.
Somewhere to Be (1, top) – Note that teleporting other figures is considered forced movement, and therefore requires line of sight. You cannot teleport a figure into a hex that it is illegal for them to occupy.
Abundant Nuisance (X, bot) – What happens with Poison while Hail has this Irritation active? Poison still blocks healing, but is not removed after doing so.
Trial and Success (X, top) – If I make this a multi-target attack, can I get more than one +1 out of it? Yes; you get to add a +1 for each enemy killed. If you kill one enemy as part of a multi-target attack, you will get the +1 sticker before attacking the next enemy.
Trying to Remember (5, top) – You can only gain a Curse once when this action is played.
Kill That One First (8, top) – Can I skip the Strengthen on the enemy? No. If you choose to perform a non-mandatory ability, you must perform the entirety of the ability. (See the GH2e rulebook, pg 35.)
Closed for Business (8, bot) – Note that the enemy has already ended their move ability adjacent to you. If you push them away from you, making them out of range, they cannot choose to move more, or refocus on a different enemy.
Perk: Minor Imbuement – Note that “Hail gains 1 resolve” on the monster modifier card is considered a positive effect with unknown value for the monsters. This can affect the card chosen with advantage or disadvantage. Also note that this modifier card is only added to the monster deck if Hail is participating in the scenario.
Perk: Enchanter The 5 gold reduction is applied at the very end of calculating enhancement costs.
Ancestry Note - Hail is an Aesther for any situations that check Ancestry (such as some event cards).
1.4 Satha
Stand Firm (2, top) – The bonus being ‘cumulative’ means that you gain Shield 1 for each attack, stacking the final value. So if you are attacked four times, you will have Shield 1 on the first one from this action, all the way up to Shield 4 for the fourth. This additional shield lasts for the rest of the round.
Armory (5, top) – Unlike (so far) every other use slot ability in the game, advancing this one is voluntary (that is, it has a trigger condition with ‘you may’ and a result of ‘any number of slots). You may choose to advance it 0 slots on an attack.
Send them Reeling (7, bot) – This usually cannot include shields gained from items, because those are (generally) momentary for one attack. It can, however, include round-long or persistent shields, such as from Stand Firm (2, top).
Ancestry Note - Satha is a Human for any situations that check Ancestry (such as some event cards).
2.0 ConQuests
What if I draw a ConQuest and don’t meet the Prosperity requirement? There’s no need to add ConQuests to the available pool before you reach Prosperity 5. If you’ve already added them to your pool but don’t meet the requirements, simply draw again.
Can ConQuests be completed with Inspiration? Yes, but if a ConQuest is completed with Inspiration there is no specific character considered to have completed the Personal Quest, so no one would earn the associated lineage reward (although you would still gain prosperity and unlock envelopes as normal).
Can these open character envelopes in a Frosthaven canmpaign? How about the Crossed Swords class in Gloomhaven As a promo add-on, this will need to be decided by your table. An ideal use for these is to unlock cross-game classes, or Mercenry Pack characters. The recommendation is that these shouldn’t be used to unlock ‘standard’ classes in Frosthaven, or the Crossed Swords class in Gloomhaven, because those are not normally unlocked through completing Personal Quests.
Conquer Your Demons - Note that to succeed in this PQ, you must spawn at least two of every kind of standard demon available in the relevant box. For Gloomhaven 2e and Frosthaven, this is all six elemental demons, plus chaos demons.
Consequences of Combat - The self-strengthen is applied after the attack is completely resolved.
3.0 Compatibility Notes for Crossover Characters
General Note - Loot vs Money Tokens
If a mechanic refers to loot tokens or money tokens, it can refer to either, based on what exists in the campaign. Any time you are supposed to return a Frosthaven loot token to a scenario, you must also place one of your loot cards (except for the random item) back to the top of the loot deck.
Objectives vs. Obstacles with Hit Points
Any mechanic referring to either objectives, or obstacles with hit points, is referring to either.
11.0 Changelog (from release, v1.0 onwards)
Note that only major rulings and/or clarifications will be listed here. Typo fixes and the like will not be reflected, below.
- 2025-08-01 - v1.0 initial release