OFFICIAL FAQ FOR GLOOMHAVEN: SECOND EDITION
Last Updated 2025-07-09
For information about this FAQ, including how to ask questions of your own, see Section 0. Note there is a changelog in Section 11 if you are looking for recent rulings.
- Errata
- Component and Setup Questions
- General Gameplay Questions (Outside Scenarios)
- City General Questions
- General Gameplay Questions (Scenarios)
- Monster Questions
- General Scenario Questions
- Characters
- Items (General)
- Compatibility Notes for Crossover Characters
- Changelog (beginning at v1.0)
0.0 Introduction
This is the official FAQ for Gloomhaven Second Edition. It will be continuously updated as more questions are added and existing answers are clarified. Please use the table of contents, above, or your in-browser Find function to locate answers to specific questions. Note that the Find function may find words under spoiler blocks or spoiler tags.
0.1 Spoilers
I follow standard spoiler rules in this FAQ. I will spoiler-tag all locked content, and refer to locked game contents by their locked class nickname, envelope symbol, scenario number, event number, or item number. Note that all cards for starter classes (including higher level cards), scenarios 0-1, Personal Quests 01-11, starting items, and abilities/statistics for common monsters are not spoilers, and will not be treated as such. Please also note that your in-browser Find function can also find words behind spoiler tags on this page. Note that the existence of the Crossed Swords class is not a spoiler for Gloomhaven: Second Edition.
0.2 About Me
I am Bill (or dwarf74 in most places). I also maintain the Frosthaven FAQ, and am currently a moderator of Reddit’s /r/Gloomhaven. I am altogether too active in Gloomhaven fan communities, and I am kind of obsessive about writing guides and making lists for games I love, so Cephalofair decided to contract me to maintain this FAQ. I’d like to give special thanks to general_cgo, gripeaway, themris, /u/JamesyWamesy1, and Nikki Valens for their help.
0.3 How to Ask Questions, and Helpful Links
Most of these questions were asked by the community. If you have a question that you can’t find the answer to, I recommend starting there! Gloomhaven has an active, knowledgable, and passionate group of fans who will be happy to help you out. While none of these communities are directly affiliated with Cephalofair, I am active on all three and will be notified when something needs added. Any of the three can work; use whichever is most appealing to you.
- /r/Gloomhaven - The Gloomhaven Subreddit is for both editions of Gloomhaven, Frosthaven, Jaws of the Lion, and the Gloomhaven RPG. Spoilers are strictly moderated. There is a pinned “Small Questions” thread, or you can start your own for bigger questions.
- BoardGameGeek Gloomhaven Second Edition Forums - Another active forum. Spoiler tags are appreciated, but are completely unmoderated.
- Gloomhaven Town/Frosthaven Outpost Discord Server - The Town/Outpost is an unofficial Discord Server for all Cephalofair games. The Outpost is very active, and a great place to get quick responses to questions for all Haven games. Spoilers are well-moderated in general channels, and there are special opt-in open spoiler channels for locked classes or for the whole campaign.
- Gloomhaven Second Edition Puzzle Book Hint Guide - An official hint and solution guide for the Town Records/Puzzle Book for Gloomhaven: Second Edition.
- Frosthaven FAQ - The Frosthaven FAQ for that game.
1.0 Errata
Rulebook p27, Suffer Damage and p30, Loot - The Loot symbol was used erroneously for the Suffer Damage ability. It should be on pg30 on the Loot header.
Campaign Sheet, “Read Section 29.5 when you have at least 6 Demon Reputation and have completed Scenario 11.” should direct you to Section 29.1. There is no Section 29.5.
Personal Quest 12 - The scenario number should be 65, not 67. The scenario name is correct.
Scenario 8 Scenario Goals should read, “The scenario is complete when the Bandit Commander and all revealed enemies are dead”
Scenario 26 Monsters on tiles 2-D and 10-B should not be set up at the start of the scenario, with the exception of the City Archers located adjacent to the wall section overlays.
Scenario 62 The map layout has Tile 06 with only slots and no tabs. The flat side should be laid adjacent to the other tiles, with the tab side facing out.
Scenario 56, page 69, Special Rules The Gloom treats all Null/x0 cards as +0, not as Null/x0
Section 10.1 (Merchant conclusion to Scenario 27) This should add Event R-37 in addition to Event R-38.
Section 21.1 (Personal Quest 22) The conclusion section should tell you to open the Two Minis class envelope (to match the Personal Quest card), not the Angry Face class envelope.
Section 47.4 (Personal Quest 17) The conclusion section should tell you to open the Lightning Bolt class envelope (to match the Personal Quest card), not the Two Minis class envelope.
Section 67.2 (Personal Quest 19) The conclusion section should tell you to open the Angry Face class envelope (to match the Personal Quest card), not the Bolt class envelope.
Section 93.2, conclusion to City Event 27 This should give you Military reputation, not Demonic.
Section 112.3 (Scenario 54), Special Rules The Gloom treats all Null/x0 cards as +0, not as Null/x0
Items 129/130 Both Items 129 and 130 are marked as 129. Of these, the Helm of the Mountain is correctly numbered as 129; the Mountain Hammer should be item 130.
2.0 Component and First Time Setup Questions
General - Be sure you go through the Welcome to Gloomhaven booklet, even if you are not using the built-in organizer. This contains important setup instructions for Event Decks, Personal Quests, etc.
I cannot find Room tiles 8 or 14. Am I missing a board? No - there are no 8 or 14 room tiles in Gloomhaven: Second Edition; these tiles aren’t needed for any scenarios.
The Welcome to Gloomhaven booklet has me sorting out 3 decks marked with star symbols, but I only have 2. Bless Cards are the third; they are shared between players and monsters so do not have star symbols.
How many of each Event deck do I use? You shuffle cards 1-20 of each deck to create the available events. Please see the Welcome to Gloomhaven booklet.
How many of the Personal Quests are added when I begin the campaign? You start with Personal Quests 01-11, shuffled to create the Available deck. The remainder will become available later, or used for Inspiration retirements.
3.0 General Gameplay Questions (Non-Scenario)
3.1 Masteries
Can I complete my Mastery in Scenario 0? No. Scenario 0 is intentionally easy.
Do I need to complete a Mastery within a single scenario? Sometimes; the Mastery itself will let you know if it needs to be completed in a single scenario. By default, most Masteries can be done over multiple scenarios. This is a change from Frosthaven
If I need to do something every round, do I still get my Mastery if I exhaust before the end of the scenario? Yes. Any mastery which requires you to do something “every round” should be read as “every round in which you perform a turn.”
Am I allowed to exhaust for a mastery that requires me to keep a summon alive until the end of a scenario? No. If you exhaust, your summons are removed from the board before the end of the scenario.
3.2 Personal Quests
My Personal Quest gives me a scenario and says to ‘follow it to its conclusion.’ What does that mean? Do I retire after the scenario? You keep going until the game explicitly tells you that your quest is complete in a Scenario Rewards box.
If, during a City Phase, I no longer qualify for retirement (for example, if I had a quest to collect gold but spent below the threshold), do I still retire? No. If you no longer meet the requirements for your PQ, you no longer retire.
If I abandon a character or PQ in the middle of a PQ that unlocks scenarios, what happens to the scenarios? They all become Incomplete and are re-locked. Any opened chests remain looted.
Personal Quest 05, Seeker of Xorn If Safeguard or another condition blocks you from gaining Poison, it does not advance the quest.
Personal Quest 17, Living on the Edge The conclusion section (47.4) mistakenly has the Two Minis icon instead of the Lightning Bolts icon. The Lightning Bolts icon on the PQ card is correct.
Personal Quest 19, Martial Study The conclusion section (67.2) mistakenly has the Lightning Bolts icon instead of the Angry Face icon. The Angry Face icon on the PQ card is correct.
Personal Quest 22, Trophy Hunt The conclusion section (21.1) mistakenly has the Angry Face icon instead of the Two Minis icon. The Two Minis icon on the PQ card is correct.
3.3 Events and Traits
Is my Ancestry another trait? Effectively, yes, your Ancestry (quatryl, human, etc.) can operate as an additional Trait for your character. It operates like all other Traits on your character board. Additionally, if you are using certain classes with Frosthaven ancestries, there may be some unlisted ‘crossover outcomes.’ Please reference 10.0 Compatibility Notes for Crossover Characters for more details, or the rulebook on pg 57.
If our City Event gives us a negative (or positive) condition in our next scenario, would a new character who came in during that City Phase’s Downtime be subject to it? No. If a character was not present for a City Event, they don’t suffer its negative or benefit from its positive effects.
If we fail a scenario but immediately re-try it, do we suffer the effects of our previous Road or City Events? No; if you re-try, you disregard previous event outcomes.
If an event has us losing XP, can we go below a level threshold? No. You cannot lose XP beyond the minimum for your current level.
Road Event 44 Is this event meant to be the same front and back? Yes.
City Event 51 can be added in two different places. If you’re instructed to add it and it’s already been added (or removed from the deck after being added), do nothing.
4.0 City General Questions
How does the Prosperity track work? What are the grey boxes? Do I need to check the big boxes with numbers? The grey boxes are just there for help counting; they appear every 5 boxes. You need to mark off the big box with the new Prosperity Level below it to actually increase to that Prosperity.
Does increasing Prosperity automatically make new items available? Yes; see the chart on page 52 of the rulebook.
If an event or scenario outcome has me losing Prosperity, can this drop me down below my current Prosperity Level? When the party loses X prosperity, erase the previous X boxes, but never erase a numbered box or further.
What is Imbuement on the campaign sheet? Should I use the Imbuement track? Ignore it until you’re instructed otherwise.
4.1 Enhancements
Is there a limit on the number of enhancements a character can have? No, there’s no limit. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
If I am enhancing an ability that can only affect multiple targets when an element is consumed or some other condition is met, does it cost double to enhance? Yes. If an ability has conditional multi-targets, it still costs double. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
My Summon has an inherent multi-target attack. Will enhancing its Range or Attack cost double the normal cost for a summon? Yes.
4.2 Imbuement
What is imbuement? It is a locked campaign mechanic. You will eventually unlock it. Until then, you do not need to worry about it.
Reward Section 133.2 Note that scenario xp rewards (that is, xp rewards noted in the gold “Rewards” box) are not doubled, and that “completed” means a successful scenario. This is not triggered (and therefore wasted) on a failed scenario.
5.0 General Gameplay Questions (Scenario)
5.1 Rooms, Movement, Teleport, Forced Movement, and Overlays
What is considered an ‘empty’ hex vs ‘featureless’, etc.? A ‘featureless’ hex has no overlay tiles (other than corridors or pressure plates), but may have a figure. An ‘empty’ hex has neither overlay tiles nor figures. Note that tokens (loot tokens, letter reminder tokens, Tinkerer devices, etc.) won’t make a hex non-empty. It is possible to summon or spawn on hexes with loot tokens. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
Can I teleport over gaps between room tiles? If so, how do I measure the distance? There’s no hexes to count. Yes, as long as the destination tile is revealed, and the map tiles aren’t free-floating (see below). The gap area between rooms is considered part of the wall. You can use extra corridor overlays to measure the distance, if it’s not apparent.
Can I teleport to a revealed room tile that is totally disconnected from other room tiles? Completely disconnected room tiles are an unmeasurable distance apart. Only teleports that ignore distance would work in these cases.
Can I teleport into the hex I currently occupy? Yes. While Move 0 is not a valid ability, Teleport 0 is.
If my move ability has Jump, can I decide not to Jump? Yes, but it must be decided at the start of your move ability. You can’t decide to start Jumping after you begin moving, or decide to stop Jumping before the formal end of the move ability. If another effect adds Jump for your move ability mid-move, you remain Jumping until the formal end of your move ability.
Can I Push and Pull with the same attack? Yes, but note that all Pushes are combined together and all Pulls are combined together into the final Push and/or Pull. You must fully complete one before you perform the other. Yes, this can make an enemy take damage from the same hazardous terrain hex twice.
Do I need Line of Sight to every hex I push an enemy into? No. While your Push target needs to be within line of sight to start the Push, it can push the target out of line of sight, and even around doors.
Can I forced move an enemy into hazardous terrain occupied by their ally, if it’s the last hex of that movement, and if the moved enemy would be killed by it? Yes, this is valid as long as only one figure would be left in that hex afterwards.
Can I Push or Pull allies? Because Forced Movement is a ‘negative ability’ you can only do so if the specific ability specifies you can.
Is it possible to Push or Pull 0? Is that still considered forced movement? No. You must move the target at least 1 hex for it to be considered a forced move, or a Push/Pull ability. If a main-line forced move ability has added effects on it, you must move the target at least 1 hex for those to take effect.
Does moving back and forth between two hexes count as moving? Yes. While there is no such thing as a Move 0, you can still end up in your origin hex if you have sufficient movement.
5.2 Damage, Shield, and Ward
When I lose a card to avoid all damage, do I lose Ward? Yes. Ward’s effects are considered before the Damage Negation step.
If I lose a card to avoid all damage, do I still need to mark use slots on defensive items like armor? Yes, unless you can bring the damage to 0 by other means. The order of operations for taking damage means that mandatory items get used before you negate it by losing a card.
How does Shield interact with Ward? Shield reduces damage before Ward is applied. If I have Shield 2 and Ward and take 6 damage, the damage is first reduced to 4 by Shield, then cut in half to 2 by Ward.
I have an ability that references the damage a monster or I have “suffered.” Is this the total damage I dealt? No. While there’s no cap to damage dealt, “damage suffered” is the result of that damage, after all ward, brittle, or negation - and is capped by the figure’s remaining HP. This goes for all figures with HP. Damage suffered is basically the equivalent of moving an hp dial.
I have an ability which refers to the damage a figure “would suffer.” Is this likewise capped by the figure’s HP? No. “would suffer” isn’t capped - it’s after shield, ward, brittle, etc., but before any damage is actually suffered.
If damage is redirected from one figure to another via an ability or effect, what is the source of the damage? The original source of the damage is not “remembered”; the source of the damage becomes the effect that redirected it.
5.3 Attack Modifier Draws, Advantage, and Disadvantage
What is the order of operations if I draw a x2 or Null on a draw with rolling modifiers? If a Null (x0) is included in the final attack modifier draws, no matter where, the final damage will always be 0. If you draw a x2, it can be inserted at any time during attack modification including at the very end. (For example, if I have an Attack 3, draw a rolling +1, and finally a x2, I can decide if my final damage is 7 (3x2) + 1 or 8 (3+1) x2.)
Which deck do my summons draw from? All summons draw from their summoner’s deck.
If I draw multiple Heal Ally (or Heal Self) modifier draws, do they combine into one heal, or is each one separate? They all combine into one heal ability, but you can either combine them to heal one target, or split them up to heal two or more. All heals to one target are combined into a single heal, and are not treated as multiple Heal 1’s.
If I draw an attack modifier for a summon’s attack that refers to something that doesn’t make sense for it, for example gaining one of my tokens or a reference to one of my summons, how is this resolved? All class-specific mechanics are controlled by the summoner, even when drawn by a summon. You gain the benefits of these attack modifier cards.
I Controlled an enemy to attack, but they drew a positive condition that would apply to them - like a Heal or Invisible Self. Who benefits from this? Can I decide not to allow it? Anything like “Invisible Self” will apply to the enemy who drew the modifier card. You can decide whether or not any added effect is applied from their modifier draw, however.
Can you go into more detail on what draws for Advantage or Disadvantage are considered “ambiguous”? What’s considered better or worse when drawn by a monster? When you’re comparing two modifier cards for Advantage or Disadvantage, all non-numeric effects listed on the modifier card (negative conditions, shield, elements, healing, etc.) have a positive but unknown value. Conditional numeric bonuses based on the board state (like Spellweaver’s “+2 if drawn during a Lost action” card) are evaluated and considered as part of the numeric value, where appropriate. The attack value is considered in cases where a x2 modifier is drawn. Items, such as Item 027 Iron Helm, that change the modifier card value, are also evaluated before a better/worse card is determined.
No other considerations for board state are included (such as an element already being strong, an enemy already being poisoned, a lack of extra targets, etc.) Rolling modifiers before the two terminal cards are also not considered; they are all included with either terminal card with Advantage, while all are discarded with Disadvantage. Note that even seemingly “negative” effects (like a self-condition or self-damage) are considered “positive” for ambiguity.
Examples:
- 2x and Attack 2 vs +2: Ambiguous (2 x 2 = 2 + 2)
- 2x and Attack 2 vs +1: 2x is better (2 x 2 > 2 + 1)
- 2x and Attack 2 vs +2 when the target has Item 027 Iron Helm: +2 is better (the x2 effect is changed into a +0, and 2 + 0 < 2 + 2)
- +1 Stun vs +1: +1 Stun is better (Stun has a positive but unknown value, so is always better than just +1)
- +0 Stun vs +2: Ambiguous (Stun has a positive but unknown value, so it’s impossible to determine if its value is better than a +2.)
- +1 Stun vs +1 Fire: Ambiguous (The two added effects can’t be compared to one another, and because both modifiers have different added effects, the numeric value doesn’t matter.)
- +1 Stun vs +2 Fire: Ambiguous (The two added effects can’t be compared to one another, and because both modifiers have different added effects, the numeric value doesn’t matter.)
- +0 Muddle vs +2 Stun: Ambiguous (While a player would almost certainly prefer a +2 stun, the unknown values of Muddle and Stun make them incomparable, and thus ambiguous.)
If I have Disadvantage, and draw (for example) a +1 Stun and a +0 Stun, is this ambiguous? No. While Stun, just like every other non-numeric modifier effect, has an “unknown but positive value,” it is always exactly as valuable as itself. While two different non-numeric effects can’t be compared, two identical ones can. In this case, the +1 Stun is better.
Can I choose not to infuse an element I draw on a modifier card, or is it mandatory, like on my ability cards? Unless the element is in a mandatory (!) box, elemental infusions on your modifier cards are optional.
5.4 Conditions
Note - Questions about Ward are answered in Section 5.2
I have Safeguard, but will receive two curses from an incoming attack. How many does Safeguard block? Just one. Everything is sequential in Gloomhaven, and the curses are timed one after the other.
Is it possible to double up on a negative condition when attacking an enemy with Safeguard, such that only one copy is blocked but the other goes through? Only for Curse; Curse and Bless are the only “stackable” conditions. If you (for example) make an Attack 2 poison, and then Spend your Poison Dagger to add Poison again, the attack still only has one instance of the Poison condition. One Safeguard will still prevent the target from being Poisoned.
Does removing a summon with a negative condition count as removing a negative condition from it? No.
Can I target a figure with a condition they’re immune to? Yes. It still won’t put the condition on the figure, but this may be important for some effects. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition
Can you explain how Curse is a negative condition? Are Curse cards in my modifier deck also negative conditions? When you are targeted by a Curse ability, you only momentarily have the Curse condition. This is long enough for you to block it with an item or Safeguard, or for it to be blocked by a monster’s Curse immunity. It’s otherwise removed instantly when a Curse card is added to your remaining attack modifier deck. Once the Curse card is in an attack modifier deck, the Curse is no longer considered a negative condition.
5.5 General Player Ability Questions and Clarifications
If I have an Ability with a “Target All” can I choose to exclude some targets? If there isn’t a Mandatory box, and it’s not a negative effect on you or your allies, you can choose to exclude targets from a Target All effect.
Can I skip targets in a red hex AoE attack? Yes; a red hex AoE just determines the hexes where your potential targets are. Note - this is a change from the Gloomhaven 1e FAQ, and is to make it consistent with all other non-mandatory targeting.
Can I skip the heal ability from long resting? Yes.
If I am making a Red Hex AoE attack, and an enemy spawns in the middle of my attack ability within the red hexes, can I attack them? No, the enemy needs to have been present at the start of the red hex attack ability.
If I have a way to reduce ranges, can I reduce them to 0? No. Range 1 is the minimum.
If an attack’s range is reduced down to 1, does it become a melee attack? No. It remains a ranged attack with Range 1 (so it will usually have disadvantage on the attack).
Is Loot a “ranged ability”? No.
I have an ability that says “all enemies and allies take damage” but it’s not in a Mandatory bubble. Can I decide not to affect my allies? If an ability is not mandatory, it can be skipped entirely - but if you perform it, it affects all allies and all enemies.
I have an attack modifier that references the position of an enemy. Does the enemy need to survive for this to function? If the modifier is part of the attack ability (that is, a modifier draw or a rider on an attack without an ability separator line), it functions even if the enemy is killed by the attack.
I have an attack modifier that gives me a Shield. How long does this last? Attack modifiers with a Shield on them will last from the time they’re drawn until the end of the round.
What does “adjacent” mean when we’re talking about placing or triggering an overlay in an occupied hex? The general rule is that a figure’s own hex is considered adjacent to them for their own targeting purposes - however, their targets’ own hexes are not adjacent to them. So if you were placing an overlay in a hex adjacent to yourself, you could target your own hex as long as it meets all the criteria for the ability. However, if you were placing it adjacent to another figure, it would have to be in one of the six hexes around them and not directly underneath them. (Note that Deathwalker’s shadows break this general rule.)
What’s the difference between “Allies gain…” or “Allies add…” and “Grant allies…” when it comes to shield, retaliate, etc.? A persistent or round bonus which says “Allies gain…” or “Allies add…” is performed by you, and only applies to allies who presently fit the condition when they would use it; usually this has a range limitation. On the other hand, a Grant lets the ally perform the ability - and once granted, it’s theirs for the duration. In short -
- An effect which says “Adjacent allies gain Shield 1,” applies to allies who are adjacent to you, but is not kept when they move away. By the same token, an ally moving into range of the effect can gain it even if they weren’t there when the ability was played. Colloquially, these are sometimes called “auras” by the community. Example: Tinkerer 1, Enhancement Field (bottom), “You and all adjacent allies add +1 to all attacks this round.”
- An effect which says “Grant all adjacent allies Shield 1” means they can immediately perform a Shield 1 (Self) ability (if able), and it lasts until the card is lost or discarded, even if they move away from you this round. Example: Tinkerer 1, Flamethrower (bottom): “Grant all adjacent allies and self: Shield 1
Can my Initiative be below 01 or above 99 after applying items or ability effects? Yes; initiative can be any number, in theory.
Is my Long Rest at Initiative 99, or is it always last in order? Your Long Rest takes place at Initiative 99. It is not necessarily last in order; if a game effect pushes a figure’s initiative above 99, it will act after your long rest. Your long rest will be performed before monster turns on Initiative 99, and is ambiguously timed with other players acting at 99. This is a change from the Gloomhaven 1e FAQ
What does “end of turn” mean? If I have a persistent ability that lets me do things at the “end of my turn,” how is that timed relative to elemental infusion, or losing a Stun? While all of these say “end of turn,” they’re not all timed equally. There is an “end of player turn” phase of sorts, where players can still perform appropriate “end of turn” abilities. Then, once all abilities are complete, there’s an “end of turn wrap-up,” during which (1) infused elements are moved to Strong, (2) “end of turn” conditions expire, and (3) a character performs end of turn looting. These three wrap-up steps are ambiguously timed with one another, and can only start once a player formally concludes their turn.
Granted Attacks - Is there a difference between a Commanded or Granted Attack +X and Attack X? Yes; see below.
- Both Attack +X and Attack X will inherit all special attack modifiers for a monster or character summon. This includes extra targets, added conditions, attack patterns, etc.
- Attack X is always a melee attack at the value provided. It can be granted to a non-objective figure that does not have an inherent Attack value.
- Attack +X depends on the monster’s or summon’s inherent attack value. For monsters, this attack is always melee. For a Summon, however, it will inherit any Range characteristic the Summon always has (if any).
I have a Grant (or Control) ability with an elemental consumption. Who consumes this element? The Granter or the target of the Grant? The granting figure performs any elemental consumptions, and gains earned XP from it (if any). If one Grant ability grants abilities to more than one target, all of them will benefit from one elemental consumption. The target of the Grant still performs any granted abilities like normal, including new abilities enabled by the elemental consumption. For example, Mindthief’s Brain Leech (3, top) will add Wound to the controlled enemy’s attack, if Ice is consumed. The Mindthief gets the XP from this consumption.
5.6 Coin and Loot Questions
What happens if I run out coin tokens? There are no more coins in the scenario. Coins in Gloomhaven: Second Edition are intentionally component-limited to 25 per scenario.
If a chest reward item has -1’s, would I have to add them for the rest of the scenario? You can choose not to equip it. If you do equip it and don’t have a perk to ignore negative item effects, you’ll have to add the -1’s.
Do my summons drop coins when they are killed? No. Only enemy monsters can drop coins.
Do enemy summons or spawns drop coins when they are killed? Yes. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
5.7 Objectives
Does destroying an objective count as a “kill” for abilities or battle goals? No. Objectives are destroyed, not killed.
Can an allied Objective be healed? Yes.
Can I move through an allied Objective? Not without Jump or Fly.
If an Objective occupies more than one hex, can I attack it more than once with a red hex AoE pattern that targets more than one of its hexes? No. No matter how many hexes an Objective occupies, it’s still just one figure.
If an Objective occupies more than one hex, can I target the hex furthest from me? Say, if I’m adjacent to one hex, can I target my ranged attack at a non-adjacent one to avoid disadvantage? Or to avoid melee Retaliate? Yes and No. Even though the Objective occupies more than one hex, it’s still just one figure, so if you are adjacent to it you’ll still have Disadvantage and/or suffer Retaliate. But, with that said, all hexes of the Objective are targetable, for red hex patterns or other purposes.
5.8 Monster Focus, Abilities, and Stats
If a monster with a ranged attack is adjacent to one enemy, but could attack another enemy without disadvantage, which enemy will it attack? Monster focus doesn’t consider disadvantage. It will always prioritize the adjacent enemy in this case. If the monster would lose disadvantage by moving away from its focus, if it can do so with its current movement, and if it can do so without entering a negative hex, it will. It will move as little as it can, in order to lose disadvantage.
Will a monster enter a negative hex (a trap or hazardous terrain) if it’s the only way to attack an enemy this turn? Usually not. A monster’s first focus priority is to choose a hex from which they can attack an enemy, using the least possible movement, preferring “safe” paths of any length over any paths with negative hexes. They will choose a safer path even if it’s much longer, and even if it means they can’t attack their focus this turn. They will only choose a path with one or more negative hexes if it’s the only way to attack any enemy, ever, looking at the current state of the board, pretending the monster has infinite movement. Remember - path length is part of selecting a monster’s focus, not something done after focus has been selected. Monsters will focus on an enemy that’s apparently further away, by range, if it means they can avoid entering negative hexes. See the steps on p74 of the rulebook for examples.
If an enemy must move through a choice of traps, will it consider the strength of those traps when determining which one to move through? No, monsters will take into account the number of negative hexes, but not the strength or effects of them. When it’s otherwise ambiguous, you can resolve ambiguity in your favor. Note that they will always prefer a path with zero negative hexes, regardless of length, just like normal.
Will enemies also avoid difficult terrain? Not necessarily. Difficult terrain is not considered a negative hex, but its effect is considered for monster focus decisions.
If a monster is trying to make a multi-target attack this turn, but does not have enough movement to attack any targets, will it move towards its primary focus or towards a position to potentially maximize the attack? It will move towards its primary focus.
How does a monster with a multi-target attack choose its destination hex and its additional targets? Do you use focus rules to determine targets other than the primary focus? As long as a monster is (a) still attacking their primary focus, (b) avoiding additional negative hexes, (c) attacking as many additional targets as possible, (d) minimizing the amount of disadvantage, and (e) minimizing move distance (in that order), players can choose the final destination hex and secondary, tertiary, etc. targets. Monsters do not use a focus process for finding additional targets, and players have a lot of latitude in choosing their additional targets. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition
When a monster is attacking more than one target, what order are those attacks made in? The actual order of attacks is ambiguous. Players can determine the attack order once all targets are determined. The primary focus does not need to be attacked first. If a target has a Retaliate value, it’s possible to kill a monster before all its attacks are made. This applies to both Target X and red hex AoE attack abilities.
How does a monster move if it has a move but no attacks on its monster ability card this turn? It finds focus and moves as if it were making a melee attack, even if this takes it out of range for its non-attack abilities.
How do monster Pushes and Pulls work? Can I choose a path which prevents them from pushing or pulling me less than the maximum amount? A path must be chosen that pushes or pulls you the maximum amount possible, considering the whole path. You cannot, for example, choose a hex that would stop a push by a wall or obstacle if there’s another valid path which avoids it. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
How do monster Infusions and Consumptions work? If there’s an Infusion or Consumption on their ability card, those elements will be Infused or Consumed if any monster in the set performs any ability on it, even if that ability isn’t modified by the elemental consumption. Note that some abilities - like “suffer damage” - are not targeted, and will be performed even if no enemies are in range.
- Example 1 - Earth Demons’ Nothing Special says “Move +0 Attack +0, Infuse Earth.” If they can neither move nor attack this round, Earth will not be infused.
- Example 2 - The Earth Demons’ Ground Slam says, “Move -1, Attack -1 target all adjacent; consume earth to add Push 1”. Even if no Earth Demons can attack, they will still consume the Earth as long as at least 1 of them moves, because they are still performing an ability on the card.
Does this apply to “standalone” abilities tied to elemental consumption? For example, if a Night Demon can consume dark to perform Invisible Self, does it need to also move or attack? If an elemental consumption would enable a standalone ability, the monster set will consume it to perform the ability even if it is performing no other abilities on its card. In this specific case, all Night Demons would consume dark to turn Invisible even if none also move or attack.
When does a Monster consume an element? When does a Monster infuse an element? If any monster in a set is going to perform any ability this round, elements are consumed at the start of the first monster in the set’s turn, and elements are infused after the last monster in the set’s turn. All monsters in the set benefit from any elemental consumption.
5.9 Scenario Allies
I have a Scenario Ally (or enemy) who “can’t be interacted with.” What does this mean? A figure who “can’t be interacted with” occupies their space. They can be moved through by allies, but not by enemies. They cannot be targeted by any attacks or abilities, cannot be damaged, and will never draw focus. They are affected normally by obstacles and difficult terrain - but do not treat traps or hazardous terrain as negative hexes. They do not spring traps and cannot be affected by them. They cannot be used for anything that counts allies or ally positioning except things explicitly called out in the scenario rules.
6.0 Monster Questions
This space is currently empty.
7.0 General Scenario Questions
Do I need to return to Gloomhaven after every successful scenario? Yes, unless the scenario you just completed is Linked or Force-Linked to another scenario. This is indicated by a chain link icon with a red or yellow exclamation point in the Scenario Rewards when a new scenario is first unlocked. You cannot replay a scenario you’ve successfully completed without returning to Gloomhaven, and links are only one-way.
I don’t understand the difference between Campaign and Casual mode. What does all this mean? Generally, scenarios are played in Campaign Mode. Casual Mode is primarily for re-playing already played scenarios, but with zero game impacts.
- Casual Mode: You get no coins, XP, quest progression, etc. You don’t draw any events, and there’s no City Phase afterwards. It is really just playing the game to enjoy it, with zero campaign impact.
- Campaign Mode: If you replay a scenario in Campaign Mode, you can earn coins, XP, quest progress, and any unlooted treasure chests. You won’t get the Scenario Rewards if you’ve already won the scenario. You may need to resolve a road event if you’re replaying a scenario outside of Gloomhaven. After the scenario, you will have a City Phase.
Can I replay a scenario to loot an unlooted treasure chest? Yes, but it must be replayed in Campaign Mode. You would run the scenario just like you ran it the first time, except you do not receive any Scenario Rewards for completion. (Just the coins, chests, xp, etc.)
What about a random scenario from the random dungeon deck? How do those fit in? Random scenarios can be played in either Casual Mode or Campaign Mode; it is up to you. See above for the differences. Random scenarios do not require a Road Event.
If I lose a scenario but we choose to replay it, do I keep anything? You keep all gold, anything gained from treasure chests, and XP earned from your action cards.
Why are some scenario markers in grey and some in green? Gray markers either indicate information that’s only needed on scenario setup, or markers that exceed the component limit. All are considered to share the same marker.
How much scenario information are we allowed to look at while trying to decide which one to go to next? Can I look at the monsters, etc. before picking in order to get PQ progress? You can look at anything on the main page(s) of the scenario - including layout, complexity, monster list, presence of treasure tiles, etc. - but not any section links.
If there is a calculation, but no indication of the direction of rounding, what direction do you round? Usually a calculation will tell you the intended direction of rounding. If it does not, assume it rounds up.
This scenario has a boss with a number of health thresholds. What happens if we reduce a boss below two of these at once - or even all the way to 0 health? The first pending section must be resolved before anything else can happen, and the boss isn’t considered dead yet. Generally, these sections will reset the boss’s health to a certain amount; the intent is that they can’t be killed by a single strong attack. The section (or first section if there’s more than one) needs to be resolved before anything else.
Do I need to kill enemies that have not yet spawned in order to beat a scenario with a goal of “When all enemies in it are dead”? Yes. Enemies on set spawns for specific rounds are still considered “in the scenario” and must be defeated in order to fulfill that win condition.
Does Escaping count as “leaving a room” for battle goals? Yes. Escaping is considered leaving a room.
7.1 Specific Scenario Questions
Scenario 26 Errata Monsters on tiles 2-D and 10-B should not be set up at the start of the scenario, with the exception of the City Archers located adjacent to the wall section overlays.
Scenario 27, Section 10.1 Errata This should add Event R-37 in addition to R-38.
Scenario 44 The effects of the Elemental Tethers apply to any Demons from the beginning of the scenario until destroyed.
Scenario 54, Section 112.3 Errata The Gloom treats all x0/Null/Curse cards as +0, not as x0.
Scenario 56 Errata The Gloom treats all x0/Null/Curse cards as +0, not as x0.
Scenario 62 The map layout has Tile 06 with only slots and no tabs. The flat side should be laid adjacent to the other tiles, with the tab side facing out.
Scenario 88, Section 42.3 The Arcane Construct’s stats return to normal on odd rounds.
Scenario 90, Treasure Index 22 Both the Mountain Hammer and the Helm of the Mountain are numbered as 129. The Mountain Hammer should be numbered 130.
7.2 Solo Scenario Questions
Can I gain Masteries or Battle Goals during a Solo Scenario? Can I progress my PQ? Do I gain Inspiration? You can pursue Masteries and Battle Goals. You can also progress your Personal Quest towards retirement. You do not gain Inspiration - Inspiration is based on party size, and both the minimum and maximum party size for a solo scenario is 1.
Do I need to kill enemies that have not yet spawned in order to beat this solo scenario? Many solo scenarios have a win condition of “when all enemies in it are dead” along with set spawns for specific rounds. Spawns that haven’t appeared yet are still considered part of the scenario, and must be defeated.
Can I level up, purchase items, or purchase enhancements after my solo scenario is complete? These activities need to wait until the next campaign Downtime phase, whenever that happens over the normal course of play. Solo scenarios take place outside of the normal Scenario/City flow, and those activities are limited to Downtime.
8.0 Characters
8.1 Bruiser
Defensive Tactics (5, top) - Does this replace my original Shield or Retaliate ability? No, Defensive Tactics adds to the first Shield or Retaliate you gain each round. If you use Shield Bash (1, bot) while Defensive Tactics is active, you will gain a total of Shield 2, Retaliate 1.
Defensive Tactics (5, top) - Does this also apply when I gain Retaliate from a modifier card, or from a persistent effect like Warding Strength (1, bot)? Yes, it adds to the first Shield or Retaliate you gain each round from your ability or attack modifier cards - but not items. A persistent effect is still on one of your cards.
Immovable Phalanx (6, bot) - Can I use an item like Boots to enhance my Move ability before turning it into an Attack ability? No. You need to decide to use a Move ability as an Attack ability before performing the ability; you can’t improve an ability you never performed. You can, however, use items which improve attacks once you do so.
8.2 Tinkerer
(Repeated from Section 5.4) What’s the difference between “Allies gain…” or “Allies add…” and “Grant allies…” when it comes to shield, retaliate, etc.? A persistent or round bonus which says “Allies gain…” or “Allies add…” is performed by you, and only applies to allies who presently fit the condition when they would use it; usually this has a range limitation. On the other hand, a Grant lets the ally perform the ability - and once granted, it’s theirs for the duration. In short -
- An effect which says “Adjacent allies gain Shield 1,” applies to allies who are adjacent to you, but is not kept when they move away. By the same token, an ally moving into range of the effect can gain it even if they weren’t there when the ability was played. Colloquially, these are sometimes called “auras” by the community. Example: Tinkerer 1, Enhancement Field (bottom), “You and all adjacent allies add +1 to all attacks this round.”
- An effect which says “Grant all adjacent allies Shield 1” means they can immediately perform a Shield 1 (Self) ability (if able), and it lasts until the card is lost or discarded, even if they move away from you this round. Example: Tinkerer 1, Flamethrower (bottom): “Grant all adjacent allies and self: Shield 1
Reinvigorating Elixir (1, bot) - What happens if an ally is Long Resting when I use this? They recover all their cards, but do not lose one during their Long Rest, unless they have active non-loss persistent bonuses (which count as cards eligible to be lost during a Long Rest).
Disintegration Beam (5, top) - Will this work on Objectives? No; Objectives can only be destroyed, not killed.
I have a question about Chimeric Formula (9, bot)… It is impossible for this FAQ to encompass all the potential interactions with this card. Your group is empowered to interpret ambiguity for your own table. If you are not confident in your group’s capability to fairly interpret potentially contradictory rules, I would recommend only using this on simpler cards.
For my Alchemical Duplication perk, can I share a potion that has already been consumed? No; you must still have the potion available for your ally to use it.
8.3 Spellweaver
Can Ice Armor (X, top) work for a summoned ally or a scenario ally? Yes; Ice Armor remains your card, and stays in your active area. It can be applied to any ally.
Freezing Nova (2, top) - What if enemies are tied for furthest distance? You can resolve ambiguity however you wish.
Etheric Echo (2, top) - Will this also work on X cards? Yes; X cards are treated as Level 1 for all purposes, including this one.
Searing Glacier (6, top) - How does this AoE pattern work? Only one of the hexes of the line pattern needs to be within Range 3 of you. It can be oriented in any direction.
Chromatic Explosion (7, top) - Can I just use this on my allies, or do I need to attack an enemy with this? You need to have performed an attack on at least one enemy. While some red hex patterns can just give conditions to allies, the ally-affecting ability specifies that it applies to allies within the red hex pattern of the attack ability.
How does my first Mastery (consume Fire and Ice 6 times) work? Over the course of a single scenario, in at least six different turns, you must consume both Fire and Ice.
8.4 Silent Knife
Practiced Reflexes (1, bot) - Can I end this move ability on a trap? Yes. Traps are sprung when you enter the hex. Because you didn’t spring it then, it will not spring unless you exit and re-enter the trapped hex.
Hired Help (9, top) - If I duplicate a monster who can Summon, such as a Cultist or an Ooze, do I also control their summons? No. In all cases for all classes, when you are controlling a monster, you don’t control their summons. Their summons will be enemies to you (and to them).
8.5 Cragheart
Heaving Swing (X, top) - How does this interact with two- or three-hex obstacles? The obstacle is completely destroyed when the target enters the first hex of the push.
Heaving Swing (X, top) - Would a flying enemy also destroy the obstacle and take damage? Yes. This doesn’t exclude flying enemies from the effect.
Petrify (X, top) - What happens if the obstacle created by killing an enemy would block off part of the scenario? Just like with all obstacle placement, you cannot completely block off part of a scenario. Here, you would still get the XP but would not place any obstacle.
Burrow (X, bot) - Can I Immobilize enemies that are now outside of my Line of Sight? No; the Immobilize is a separate, targeted ability performed after the Move is complete
Mud Eruption (2, top) - Can I create an obstacle tile in the same hex as a flying enemy, if I did not push them? No; obstacles may not be placed in occupied hexes.
Sentient Growth (2, top) - Can I use this just to heal allies without attacking? No; a red hex attack ability must be performed, in order to perform any subsequent abilities referencing the attack pattern.
Brutal Momentum (7, bot) - Do I get both the Move 3 and the attack bonus at the start of my next four turns, or just the move? You get both at the start of your next four turns.
8.6 Mindthief
Submissive Affliction (1, top) - Does a condition applied by this attack count for the attack bonus? No; added effects, like conditions, are resolved after attack damage.
Hostile Takeover (2, bot) - If this enemy is summoning this round, will the summoned creature be on our side? No. In all cases for all classes, when you are controlling a monster, you don’t control their summons. Their summons will be enemies to you (and to them). You can, though, choose not to have this enemy perform their summon ability.
Cranium Overload (3, top) - All of the attacks in this action are considered melee attacks. All the attacks require line of sight, as is standard for attacks.
If I Control a monster to attack using my deck, and they draw an “Invisible, Self” modifier, who benefits? “Self” refers to the acting figure - so the monster would turn invisible. You, however, are in control of your modifier deck, and make all decisions that need to be made regarding it. You can choose not to apply it.
Does my “Lying Low” (last in initiative) perk also help my Summons? No; this perk only applies to you, and does not actually change when you are acting in the round.
8.7 “Sun”
Sun Spoilers
(Repeated from Section 5.2) How does Shield interact with Ward? Shield reduces damage before Ward is applied. If I have Shield 2 and Ward and take 6 damage, the damage is first reduced to 4 by Shield, then cut in half to 2 by Ward.
Path of Glory (5, bot) - Can I Strengthen and Bless allies who are no longer in my Line of Sight after my Move? No; the Strengthen, Bless is a separate ability performed after the Move is complete.
Divine Intervention (6, top) - Is the damage I suffer capped by my ally's remaining hit points? No; "would suffer" is not capped by a figure's remaining hit points.
Scales of Justice (6, bot) - (1) Can I consume Light even if the attack would not normally consume Light? (2) Will the Null effect also apply to any Curses I draw? (1) No - this only applies to attacks which you can already consume Light on. (2) Yes; this includes all Nulls, including Curses.
If I draw my card recovery perk during an attack, can I recover the card I am using for this attack? Yes, as long as it is Level 1/X, that was the final ability on the card, and it doesn't have any round bonuses or persistent effects.
Spoiler related to the Imbuement mechanic, once unlocked:
Divine Intervention (6, bot) - Will this negate any conditions on the monster's positive modifier card? No; if the modifier is positive and has an effect, it will be +0 with the effect.
8.8 “Three Spears”
Three Spears Spoilers
Can I spend supplies to refresh an item without a gold cost - such as a solo scenario item? No; only items with gold costs printed on the item card can be refreshed with Supplies.
Giant Club (4, bot) - Do I need to have line of sight to my allies, to give them items at the end of my movement? No; giving items to allies is not a targeted ability.
What happens if I draw a "Gain the Scroll of Relocation or Sharpened Dirk" modifier while making an attack with the Sharpened Dirk? Items are returned to their supply immediately when used; the Dirk would be available to gain, again, via this modifier.
8.9 “Circles”
Circles Spoilers
Living Night (1, top) - If one of my Shadow Wolves is killed by an Area of Effect or multi-target attack or effect, would the second become invisible immediately? Yes; remember that all targeting in Gloomhaven is sequential. The first Wolf dies, and the second one would gain Invisible before the next target is chosen.
Wild Animation (1, bot) - Does my Thorn Shooter rush into melee range, because it has no attack? No; see the character board rules for your Summons. It will focus as a normal ranged attack, ignoring disadvantage, and ignoring enemies who already have the condition. This holds for all similar summons, such as the Rift Spirit
Planar Protection (1, bot) - I control the Grant Shield ability on this summon. Can it target only its own allies, or only my allies? It is still performing the Grant. It can only target its allies.
Living Mountain (5, top) - Does the +1 to heals also affect the Heal 1 Self the Rock Colossus performs at the end of each of its turns? Yes; it's still a heal targeting it.
Oozing Manifestation (6, top) - What is going on here? The Slime Spirit will not die from damage the first time it otherwise would. Instead, it will "split" by summoning another Slime Spirit in an adjacent hex. Once this happens, neither Slime Spirit has any protection from dying, because your character token is on the card.
Interplanar Mastery (8, bot) - If Dark is consumed, will this affect enemies adjacent to me, or enemies adjacent to the teleported summon? It will affect enemies adjacent to the summon; this is part of the granted abilities, and not a new ability.
How should I read the second Mastery about six different Summon abilities? In the first round of six different scenarios, you should perform a summon ability you didn't use in the first round of the other five. The six scenarios do not need to be consecutive.
8.10 “Eclipse”
Eclipse Spoilers
What's the timing on removing a tear when I go through it? A tear is removed immediately when you enter its hex. You do not lose Invisible until the end of your move (or teleport) ability.
Can I place a Tear under my figure? Yes, if it's allowed by the ability. You will not, however, lose Invisible, unless you exit that hex and re-enter it - you need to enter a hex with a Tear to do so.
Can I use a Tear that's occupied by an enemy? Yes, but you cannot end your movement in an occupied hex. Remember - you don't lose Invisible until the end of your Move ability.
How does Teleport interact with Tears? You don't move through any intervening hexes with a Teleport. If you want to use a Tear while teleporting, you must end the Teleport in the Tear to lose Invisbile.
Prepare for the Kill (3, top) (1) The 'whenever' clause just lets this card persist until it triggers. It is discarded when it triggers. (2) The tear is removed immediately when you enter its hex, so this will interrupt your movement to gain Strengthen and damage the adjacent enemies. You may continue the move afterwards.
8.11 “Cthulhu” or “Squid Face” or “Bug Face”
Cthulhu Spoilers
A general reminder on Targeting and Order All targeting in Gloomhaven is sequential - that is, you complete a full Attack before selecting and attacking the next target in a multi-target or red hex attack. This can be especially relevant with some of your Attack Modifier Cards that give enemies Poison or Plague. If you perform a targeted ability that does something to all monsters with Plague, and more monsters gain Plague during it, those monsters can be added to your targets.
Do I still get the bonuses from giving poison to one of my allies, if they prevent the condition (such as with Safeguard)? Yes. You have fulfilled the requirement, even if they don't keep the poison.
Can I give Poison to an allied Objective? No - Objectives cannot ever gain Poison, so you cannot give it to them.
Do I need Line of Sight to give poison to an ally? No - "Give" is not in the list of targeted abilities, so would not require Line of Sight. Note, as always, that range cannot be counted through walls.
Can I apply Plague to an enemy Objective? Yes - Plague is not considered a condition.
Do I need Line of Sight for a Plague ability? Sometimes. For an ability like Path of Pox (1, bot), you would not. Plague is not a condition, and applying it is not a targeted ability. You can perform standalone Plagues to targets out of line of sight, or even without targets at all. On the other hand, an action like Festering Sores (1, top) has both Wound and Plague - applying Wound is a Condition ability, and therefore the whole ability is targeted. (Note that in Gloomhaven: Second Edition, you can't pick and choose parts of an Ability to perform; you either perform all of it or none of it, per rulebook pg 35.)
I have questions about the two check perk, Xorn's Propogation...
(1) Yes, you can control the monster even if it has already acted in the round - or if it died during its own turn. This happens immediately, inserted into the turn order, and the monster always performs its full card.
(2) Its elemental interactions are completely separate from the other monsters of its kind. If the ability card has bonuses for elemental consumption, it can consume elements to improve it - and won't benefit from any previous elemental consumptions. It will repeat any elemental infusions, as well. If the element is wild, it can be different from the rest of the monster set. If it infuses elements during your turn, elements still won't be available until after the end of your turn, like normal.
(3) The monster still has any conditions it had; this controlled turn happens before it actually dies.
(4) If the monster enters any traps or hazards while being controlled, it will remove any traps, and suffer any conditions from them, but can't take further damage.
(5) If the monster dies during its own turn, it will still have its full ability card to use - and will start fresh on elemental interactions. It would need to consume its own element to gain any benefits, and would infuse its own when it's finished - even if it's acting in the middle of the rest of its monster set.
8.12 “Lightning Bolts”
Lightning Bolts Spoilers
A general note on hit point conditional bonuses: Your current hit points are always evaluated before performing an ability, or before suffering any damage. For example, for Numb the Pain (1, top), your hp are evaluated before you suffer any damage for the damage reduction ability. Note that some actions, like Seeing Red (5, top) put an ability divider after self-damage. Anything following the self-damage will refer to your new HP value.
Is half my maximum hit point value rounded up, or down? While you should normally have an even number of maximum hit points, if it doesn't specify, don't round it in either direction.
Defiance of Death (1, top), Strength in Agony (1, top), etc. - If I use an item to increase my number of targets, do I need to take extra damage? No; just like with element consumption, the benefits for spending health will apply to all attacks made in the attack ability.
Glass Hammer (X, top) - If I have a way to add targets to this attack, do I get more XP? No; it says "an" enemy. You only get the XP for one enemy, but you can pick whichever one you wish.
Flurry of Axes (6, top) - Can I use range-increasing items on this action? No; this is not a ranged attack, and has no range value.
For my Just a Scratch (2-check) perk, does this Attack 2 need to be at melee? No; it can target the attacker, even at range. It is still considered a melee attack.
Can you explain Taunt, the three-check perk? Can I skip certain enemies when I use it? The perk is to ensure you get value out of your Retaliate abilities, no matter what monsters end up doing on their turns. You control your adjacent enemies to make an Attack +0 (that is, a melee attack at their default attack value), targeting you. As with all instances of targeting "all" enemies, you can choose to target less than "all" enemies. Remember that Objectives cannot be controlled.
8.13 “Music Note”
Music Note Spoilers
A few quick reminders on core Note mechanics from the character board that may be easily missed:
(1) You can only gain one Note per round from your Actions; some effects (like Increase Cadence, 1 bot) can exceed this.
(2) Unlike elemental infusions, you gain Notes immediately when you perform an action with a Note.
(3) When you play a Song action, you clear all your Notes, not just the ones that were needed for that specific Song; you can still gain a Note with a subsequent action on the same turn, however.
(4) All Songs move their use slot tokens at the end of every round, not at the end of your turn.
A reminder on ambiguity: A lot of your Songs will look for the "closest ally" or other comparisons that can easily be tied. As always, you can resolve this ambiguity however you wish.
Are you aware that clefs aren't notes? Yes.
Provoke Terror (X, top) - If I don't push an enemy, are they still stunned? No; the stun is an added effect on the push, so each enemy must be pushed at least 1 hex in order to be stunned.
Ode to the Gambler (3, top) - What happens if I draw a rolling Null (or Curse)? A rolling null will always make an attack's final damage 0, unless you have a way to disregard or change it - like if you had Disadvantage for the attack.
Symphonic Medley (3, bot) - Do these Song actions still clear all the Notes on my board? Yes. Each Song played via this ability also clears all the Notes on your board.
8.14 “Angry Face”
Angry Face Spoilers
A Moment's Peace (1, top) - Do I need line of sight to the enemy whose ability I am revealing? No; "reveal" is not a targeted ability.
Solid Bow (1, bot) - Would I need to be adjacent to the enemy to gain the heal? No; it's "self" or "1 ally adjacent...".
Predator and Prey (9, top) - Does the Great Archinotl get a 100-initiative extra turn in the round it's summoned? No; summons don't get turns during the round in which they are summoned, including extra turns.
What's the timing of the extra Attack 2 I gain from my "-1, Attack 2 Range 5" modifier cards? These attacks are performed immediately after the attack in which you draw them, and after any retaliate you may suffer from it. They are considered "added effects" and are thus part of the attack ability you were already performing. Because of this, they will retain any bonuses (or penalties) you had for that attack ability (but not any bonuses or penalties you just had for one attack).
8.15 “Saw”
Saw Spoilers
What happens to an active Prescription if Saw exhausts? Even though Prescriptions are in your allies' active areas, the card is still owned by you. If you exhaust, they will be lost.
What happens to Medical Packs in other players' hands if Saw exhausts? Medical packs already in other players' hands are unaffected by Saw exhausting.
When do I evaluate if a monster is considered "damaged" for Vital Strikes or other abilities? You evaluate this before you start performing your ability. For example, for Vaccine (X, top), you only gain a second target if the first monster is damaged before you begin your attack ability. For Prep for Surgery (X, top), you would only add Stun if the enemy was damaged before the attack. And so on.
Prep for Surgery (X, bot) - Can I improve attacks or moves before turning them into heals? You must decide whether to convert a move or attack ability into a heal ability before performing it; it cannot be improved except by effects that improve heals.
Blood Transfusion (3, bot) - Can I use this on myself Yes; it is not restricted to allies. You would get a Safeguard and one of your Medical Packs.
Experimental Stimulants (4, top) - When do I evaluate if the target has an active Prescription? When I perform the ability, or when they would suffer damage? This is evaluated when you play the ability. The damage negation effect works, even if they no longer have the Prescription when they would suffer their next damage.
Do No Harm (4, top) - Am I disarmed until this persistent effect concludes? No; the Disarm (self) is performed once, when the action is first played.
8.16 “Triangles”
Triangles Spoilers
Magma Scales (1, top) - If Wind is consumed, who is doing the Disarm? The Disarm is part of the Granted abilities. The ally you granted the Move to performs it.
Malleable Evocation (1, bot) - What's the timing on this? Is this an infusion? The Waning to Strong is done immediately when the ability is played. This is not an infusion.
Pulsing Cores (1, bot) - What does this do? This persistent cycles through the three element pairs twice. This turn, you infuse fire or ice at the end of your turn. Next turn, it's wind or earth. The one after that, it's light or dark. The cycle then repeats.
Duskstorm (6, top) - Can I just use this to buff my allies without attacking? No; any abilities referring to red hexes of an attack ability require the attack ability to have been performed.
Elemental Juggernaut (7, top) - Can this summon still attack if there are zero strong or waning elements? Yes; Attack 0 is still an attack. Does it get the element bonuses to Granted attacks? Yes.
8.17 “Two Minis”
Two Minis Spoilers
Who does 'you' refer to on a Command action? Everything on a Command action is written from the Bear's perspective. 'You' refers to the Bear.
Concentrated Rage (1, bot) If the Bear attacks an enemy with Retaliate, do I add one token or two? Two, if the Bear is damaged from the Retaliate. One for the attack, and one more if the Bear suffers Retaliate damage.
Disorienting Roar (1, bot) - Note that this Move 3 Jump triggers on attacks, not attack abilities. It cannot change the red hex pattern of an attack ability like Forceful Swipe (X, top) once the first attack is made, and the bear would need to remain in the grey hex. It could, however, add more potential targets for any Target 2+ attack abilities.
Spirit Swap (1, top) - Does the Bear need line of sight to the Vermling to teleport them adjacent? No. While teleporting other figures is normally classified as Forced Movement, thereby requiring Line of Sight, this is a Command action. Commands are generally exempted from Line of Sight requirements, per the class mat.
Invocation of Spirit (X, top) - Who is performing these attacks? How does this interact with Retaliate? This is the Vermling making attacks, but acting as if they occupied the hex the bear occupies. Any situational bonuses will be based on the bear's location. The vermling does not need line of sight for these attacks; only the bear does. Retaliate, however, is based on the vermling's actual position, and will only cause damage if the vermling itself is within the enemy's retaliate range.
Unbreakable Bond (8, top) Are both of these attack abilities performed from the bear's position or just the second one? How does this interact with retaliate? Only the second attack ability is performed from the bear's hex. This is still the Vermling making attacks, but acting as if they occupied the hex the bear occupies. Any situational bonuses for the second attack will be based on the bear's location. The vermling does not need line of sight for the second attack ability; only the bear does. Retaliate for both attacks is based on the vermling's actual position, and will only cause damage if the vermling itself is within the enemy's retaliate range.
Unbreakable Bond (8, bot) Do I still need to play cards over the next three turns? What does it mean that the bear is taking two turns? You will not play any cards during card selection, or do anything that happens on your turn. Your wounds will not cause damage, and your 'end of turn' conditions will not expire. The bear, on the other hand, is taking two full turns. Conditions such as Disarm and Muddle would end at the end of their first turn; they would not have these for their second turn. Wound would also do damage twice to them - once per turn taken. Any other persistent abilities you have out will function as normal, but will not move their use slots. Because the Vermling has no initiative during this time, they are considered last in initiative order for focusing purposes.
Jaws of Death (9, top) Do I just repeat the attack ability, or does the bear also get to move again? You are repeating the entire action - that is, the entire card half. There is no limit to the number of times you can repeat this action, as long as every attack is killing an enemy. (Note that objectives are destroyed, rather than killed.)
8.18 “Crossed Swords”
Crossed Swords Spoilers
Putrid Grubs (3, top) - Is the attack penalty cumulative? Yes; if all three Bloat Maggots are adjacent to a single enemy, that enemy will have -3 to all of its attacks.
Bioluminescence (5, bot) - Is the attack bonus cumulative? Can it apply to the other moth? Yes to both.
Fury of the Horde (7, top) - Is this referring to Crossed Swords' allies or to the Rage Hornets' allies? It is referring to the hornets' allies. The Crossed Swords itself would qualify for this bonus.
How many hand slot items can I bring into a scenario if I take the Armed and Dangerous perk? It's "additional" - you can bring four more hands' worth of items in addition to your normal two.
Do I need line of sight to the summon I'm swapping with for my Disperse and Coalesce perk? Yes; any time you're teleporting another figure, it follows the rules for forced movement, and is therefore targeted. As an additional note, you cannot swap with a flying summon that's occupying an obstacle hex you could not, yourself, occupy - teleporting requires valid destination hexes.
Can I just start with my second Mastery already checked? It's up to you - but do you really think you deserve it?
9.0 Items (General)
Reminder on mandatory vs. voluntary item usage Any items which have a use slot track (for example, Hide Armor) must be used when their conditions are met. Likewise, any passive items (items that last all scenario) always function. All other items are voluntary to use.
What happens if I gain an item I can’t gain? Say, because all copies of it are owned by other party members? When a character gains an item they cannot gain (for any reason), they must sell it immediately.
What happens if I own a Reputation-based item but no longer have the Reputation to qualify for it? You keep it. If you sell it, however, you cannot buy it back unless your faction reputation goes back up.
Can I gain a Reputation-based item if I lack the required Reputation? You cannot purchase Reputation-based items you don’t qualify for, but if you could gain them via other means (say, a chest or an event card), you do not need to meet the reputation requirements.
I have an item that modifies the monster’s attack modifier draw. How does that work if the monster has Advantage or Disadvantage? The effects of the item should be applied before the modifier is chosen. This is a change from a Gloomhaven 1e FAQ ruling.
Will my Spent item with use slots recover its uses if I Long Rest before all of the charges are expended? Yes, Spent items recover all their use slots whenever they are recovered, whether as part of a long rest or an item recovery ability. A Lost item will not recover its charges on a long rest; it would only recover its charges when you use an ability that can recover Lost items. This is a change from Gloomhaven 1st Edition.
Can I use an item in the middle of my move or attack ability? Only if it is not itself an ability, and it says something like “during your move ability.” If an item allows you to perform another ability (like healing, damaging, destroying an obstacle, etc.), you need to finish your ability first. See below for a more detailed answer. This is a change from a Gloomhaven 1e FAQ ruling.
When is item usage an ability? The following are Abilities as defined in the Gloomhaven rulebook - Move, Teleport, Attack, Conditions (positive or negative), Heal, Forced Movement, Loot, Suffer Damage (self, allies, or enemies), Recover (cards or items), Commanding Figures, Manipulating Tiles, and Active Bonuses. Active Bonuses take some interpretation for items because there’s not always a Round or Persistent icon, but this was largely for graphic design reasons - making it less clear, which is why this is complicated. If an Item gives a turn-long, round-long, or persistent bonus such as “add Jump to all your move abilities”, it is itself an ability. If it says something more along the lines of “during your attack” or “during your move” or “on the next attacks targeting you” it’s not an active bonus with any kind of duration, and therefore not an ability. This distinction is important because you generally can’t interrupt your ability with another ability.
Basically, if an item only makes sense if used within another ability or in reaction to one, that’s how it’s supposed to work and it’s not an ability. If it makes sense used independently, it probably is an ability.
Can I use an item during my Start of Turn phase? For example, can I use a Circlet of Life to heal a Wound before I take damage from it? Generally, no; items with a timing of “during your turn” cannot be used in the Start of Turn phase.
9.1 Items (Specific)
Items are listed by their item number.
Item 012 Stamina Potion - Can this recover X cards as well? Yes; X cards are Level 1 cards for all purposes.
Item 018 Heavy Basinet - Note that this does not allow you to prevent self-inflicted conditions; it’s only those applied by enemies.
Item 133 Heart of the Betrayer - What does this item do? Basically, instead of being attacked by the enemy, you can make them perform an Attack -1 on one of your other enemies. This can just be used to negate an attack, if that enemy is unable to make an attack, or if you don’t want them to make an attack.
Item 136 Flea-Bitten Shawl - Note that this item does not affect your summons. If there are multiple ‘last in initiative order’ effects in play, they are ambiguous with one another, and you can decide which is considered ‘really last’ when it’s important.
Item 142 Magma Waders - Do I take the damage from the hazardous terrain I create? No; hazardous terrain damage is only taken when entering a hazardous terrain hex.
10.0 Compatibility Notes for Crossover Characters
General Note - Loot vs Money Tokens
If a mechanic refers to loot tokens or money tokens, it can refer to either, based on what exists in the campaign. Any time you are supposed to return a Frosthaven loot token to a scenario, you must also place one of your loot cards (except for the random item) back to the top of the loot deck.
Objectives vs. Obstacles with Hit Points
Any mechanic referring to either objectives, or obstacles with hit points, is referring to either.
Frosthaven characters in Gloomhaven: Second Edition and Jaws of the Lion
General - Make note of the event cards rule for Frosthaven Crossover Classes on pg 57 of the rulebook. If the name of a Frosthaven ancestry (Algox, Lurker, or Unfettered) appears anywhere in the narrative text of an event card, that card features a crossover outcome. If you are playing the matching ancestry, you may read the crossover outcome by referencing section XX.1, where XX is the event number (either city or road). Event cards that do not feature crossover outcomes are resolved normally.
Drifter - Your Scavenger perk (which lets you exchange Loot Cards) has no function in games without a Loot Deck.
Gloomhaven: Second Edition characters in Frosthaven
Silent Knife - See the General Note at the top of this section for rules involving money vs. loot tokens. Any specific references to gold are unchanged.
Tinkerer - It is impossible for this FAQ to encompass all the potential interactions with Chimeric Formula, particularly when involving characters from other games. Your group is empowered to interpret ambiguity for your own table. If you are not confident in your group’s capability to fairly interpret potentially contradictory rules, I would recommend only using this on simpler cards and avoiding broken interactions.
Saw and Frosthaven Building 42 - Your Devout perk will work just as normal for the Temple, once it is built. Even though the cost for blessings is different between the games, you don’t get any refunds.
Saw and Drifter - Drifter’s abilities which move tokens backwards will not work on any Prescriptions Saw gives to them, because Prescriptions are still considered Saw’s abilities.
Three Spears - Items without gold costs may not be refreshed with Supplies. As a house rule recommendation, you may treat potions that are both in Frosthaven and Gloomhaven: Second Edition as having the Gloomhaven version’s gold cost. Note that your “Well-Connected” perk (involving faction items) has no function outside of Gloomhaven: Second Edition.
Gloomhaven: Jaws of the Lion characters in other games
Crossover character sheets can be found at Cephalofair’s website. They are technically for Frosthaven, but will work for Gloomhaven: Second Edition as well.
Demolitionist - If you bring the Demolitionist into other games, and use the Level X Rubble card, you will need to bring destruction tokens over as well. When you (and only you) destroy any obstacle through items or abilities, place a destruction token in the hex(es) it previously occupied. Hexes with only destruction tokens are considered featureless, and the destruction token should be removed if a new overlay is placed in its hex.
11.0 Changelog (from release, v1.0 onwards)
Note that only major rulings and/or clarifications will be listed here. Typo fixes and the like will not be reflected, below.
- 2025-06-17 - v1.0 initial public release
- 2025-06-18 - Rulebook errata added; Recover errata added, but then removed for insignificance
- 2025-06-20 - Three Spears question added
- 2025-06-21 - Ruling on damage redirection, R44 note
- 2025-06-23 - Music Note clarification for Level 3 action.
- 2025-06-25 - question on reputation items and Angry Face 9 question.
- 2025-06-26 - Two Minis ruling on a Level 1 card for LoS. Two boss special rules errata (Sc 54/Sc 56) due to graphic design errors in printed versions.
- 2025-06-27 - Added above errata to Section 7.1 and added PQ 17 & 22 errata in both Section 1.0 and Section 3.2. The circle is complete.
- 2025-06-28 - Clarification on Sc 88
- 2025-07-01 - Teleport 0, note for Cthulhu re: targeting, note about Sc 62 map overview
- 2025-07-02 - Added Campaign Sheet errata.
- 2025-07-06 - Added some small clarifications for a PQ, setup, and Cthulhu.
- 2025-07-08 - Added Scenario 27/Section 10.1 Errata
- 2025-07-09 - Added note that there’s two times you might be instructed to add C-51 to the event deck.